About Us

The Office of Information Technology (OIT) was formed through the passage of Senate Bill 117, and was signed into law on May 21, 2013. As enacted, Act 2013-68 also established the position of Secretary of Information Technology— the first time in Alabama’s history that a cabinet-level position was created specifically for Information Technology (IT).

OIT focuses on three primary mandates: IT Strategic Planning , IT Governance, and IT Resource Utilization.

OIT Leadership Team

 Jim Purcell
Jim Purcell
Acting Secretary of Information Technology
Mallory Anderson
Executive Assistant, Secretary of Information Technology

Mason L. Tanaka
Chief Information Security Officer
Brian Woika
Chief Administrative Officer